It’s HOT here…

“Show me a big ole splash so I can practice photographing water drops.”

One of the youngsters in the neighborhood pool was more than willing to help me practice!

__________________________________

My personal computer is on it’s last leg and I am going to have to get a new one.  With the tax free weekend coming up soon in Nashville, I’m going to try to “limp around” with this one until August.  I have been solely operating from a laptop and know that I will move to a desktop.  Help me friends.  Do I want to stay with a Windows based computer or make the move to a Mac?  It’s a big decision for this gal.  There are pros and cons with both systems.

Just a reminder:

12 framed fine art images are available for purchase during the month of July at  Village of Flowers located in Hillsboro Village, Nashville, TN.

This entry was posted in Sue Henry Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to It’s HOT here…

  1. Julie McLeod says:

    Sue, I switched to a Mac in January and I’m in love! I will never go back. It is so trouble-free and I believe my images look so much nicer on the screen. It is so darn elegant….

  2. suehenryphotography says:

    That’s what I keep hearing, Julie. Which model did you get?

    “Elegant” is a word I don’t believe I’ve ever heard used when describing a computer… 🙂

  3. Bo Mackison says:

    Oh, this can be a volatile subject, but I suspect not too volatile since all your visitors are friendly folk. This subject (mac vs. PC) was on a linkedin discussion with the women photographers group. I think 90% were Mac lovers, but there are some fierce supporters of PC out there, too. 🙂

    Me? I’m a dedicated Mac user. I started with a PC, switched to Mac at the insistence of my three kids, and have NEVER looked back. So — yes, I love my Macs. Yep, two Macs. I have the MacBook Pro laptop and an iMac with a BIG screen.

    I would most highly recommend Mac – especially (this is the important part to me) if you have an Apple store conveniently located near you. I find it sheer luxury to be able to take my computer to friendly folk and let them tell me what is wrong AND fix it. And when I bought my newest Mac, I went to the store and told them exactly what I wanted to use the computer for (photo, of course) and they helped configure a computer for my exact needs.

    Plus, I would highly recommend the 1:1 training. For less than $100 a year, you can go in about once every week or 10 days (depending on how busy they are and their scheduling) and have a 60 minute session with a Mac staffer who will teach you almost anything you need to know or want to learn how to do. I essentially learned how to use a computer in their store.

    OK — I’ll stop. (Can you tell — I’m a convert…) LOL!

  4. Kelly says:

    I am a total Mac snob…I work as a graphic artist, so it is almost a requirement. I have a little netbook that is PC and so far it has been fine, but if you are looking to use it for graphics–photography, I say go with Mac.

  5. Marcie says:

    Just looking at these images..and I immediately feel cooler.
    Right now – I’m on a PC…but wishing that I’d chosen a mac instead. Everyone seems to absolutely love it!!! Will be curious to hear what you ultimately choose!

  6. Anita Bower says:

    This boy is having a good time, and you captured the mood.
    Good luck in your choice between mac and pc. I use a pc because it was cheaper. The one recommendation I would make is to buy a large monitor. Do let us know what you decide.

  7. Oscar says:

    It depends on what you use it for. If for just photos and blogging, I hear the Mac is fabulous. For office work, ie: MS office and Outlok, etc. Well stick with PC’s. I have PC’s never have much problem with them.

    There’s a learnig curve associated with the Mac so take that into consideration. either way, we’ll be here for ya.

  8. Oscar says:

    Oh! the picture is great! I love watching kids splash around in the water. As long as they don’t dilute my drink. 🙂

  9. suehenryphotography says:

    I am totally at a loss as to what direction to take with this decision. Usually I have NO trouble making up my mind. *sigh* I don’t know if it’s because I’m a “little” older or what.

    “Oscar,” my office days are over. I used MS Office for years, but since my retirement I have been able to accomplish most everything I need with Google Documents believe it or not. And yes, the computer would be used primarily for photography and blogging.

    My photographer friends are weighing in very heavily for the MAC. My son, who is my personal computer guru, says he won’t be able to help me much if I go the MAC route. And then, do I really need to pay the extra cost of a MAC? My software will somehow need to be changed to the MAC format. (The sales person at the store made some suggestions about how to approach that.) And yes, I realize there is a learning curve. I used the MAC in my photography class and learned just enough to get me by, but found myself asking my lab neighbor a lot of questions.

    I also realize that IF I’m going to make the switch THIS is the time to do it. In four or five years when it is time to buy my next computer I know that I will not be in a frame of mind to switch then. It’s kind of “now or never.” Again, for photography MAC seems to be the direction to take.

    Decisions. Decisions.

    Which ever route I go I will be SOOOOOOOOOO glad to have a new reliable computer. The fan is dying on this one; I can use it for a brief period of time then I have to shut her down. I have SOOOOOOOOO much software jammed packed on this one that I have no memory left. On top of all of that I am getting so many “Not Responding” errors.

    When I get a new computer, I’m going to have the fan repaired on this one, strip off some of the extra software and just use this laptop when I travel. I think it will still work for that purpose….

    🙂 Glad you will still be here for me! Thanks for your support!!! (And, thanks for letting me vent!)

    Sue

Leave a Reply

