The Wash-Tub Bass Player

Please join me today at Vision and Verb, where I tell the story about an afternoon drive and the experiences we found while exploring The Natchez Trace.

This entry was posted in Sue Henry Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Wash-Tub Bass Player

  1. Petra says:

    wow, never seen a bass like that, cool

  2. suehenryphotography says:

    This is a home made “instrument.” You make various pitches by moving the neck (stick) back and forth — shortening and lengthening the string. It really doesn’t make precise pitches but will closely approximate pitches. It almost adds more of a rhythm than a true bass sound.

    Psst….that’s my husband playing the bass. He “sat in” the circle for a bit…until his fingers started hurting! LOL

  3. Shelby Quertermous says:

    My favorite Christmas movie is Emmett Otter Jug Band Christmas. In order to form a jug band, Emmett has to put a hole in his mother’s washtub. Several months ago, we use to go to the Flea Market in Nashville, Kenny wanted a wash tub so he could make a washtub bass. We looked everywhere, about the time wewere ready to give up, I saw a washtub under a bunch of stuff, got it for $3.00. Needless to day, he has yet to put a hole in it, after he sees this, he’ll probably do it and start playing his new washtub bass!

  4. Toni says:

    A fantastic series of shots, Sue.

  5. David W. Martin says:

    I have seen warsch tub bass before, but his bandmates must be a far off as he needs binos to see them! Handsome man Sue. I myself just replaced my PC with a dual processing un-mac.

  6. Anita Bower says:

    I think photographing people is challenging, at least for an introvert like me. I notice you are doing more people photography–good for you!

Leave a Reply

