The Oak Leaf

While I typically don’t go into details about how images are created or processed, I think this image is interesting enough that it deserves a description.

While out shooting yesterday I was captivated with the wind blowing the oak leaves and took a rather long exposure of fluttering oak leaves.  I gasped with excitement when I opened it up on the computer.  It was so cool!  Abstract, but cool!

I additionally shot a single oak leaf on a branch.  I liked the detail in the leaf as well as the simplicity of the leaf.  But, it was a very ordinary shot.

Since it was a cold and snowy day I spent quite a bit of time at the computer playing with  processing.  Just out of curiousity I wondered what would happen if I would put the two images together as a composite, similiar to a texture overlay.

Today’s image is the result of my experimentation.  Tell me what you think!

This entry was posted in Sue Henry Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The Oak Leaf

  1. Anita Bower says:

    I think it is wonderful! Great job. My first thought when I saw it, was that the image was a combination of your abstract and non-abstract work. And, I was right! I like how the two leaves mirror each other while turning away from each other. Lovely textures and colors.

  2. Julie McLeod says:

    Creativity at its best! I love this so much….

  3. Frida says:

    This is excellent with lovely colors and textures.One little thing is that your logo cuts of a bit and would perhaps suit better in the left corner for this. But thats only my opinion. However it’s a gorgeous picture you present.

  4. Bo Mackison says:

    Great work. I too like the mirroring effect. And you’ve inspired me to try combining images too. I love my list of ideas I want to try. Sure helps the days pass while I’m waiting out this snowy stuff.

  5. suehenryphotography says:

    Thanks so much for your visit and comment, Freda! The logo is one that is standard on my Smugmug account…it automatically and magically appears. 🙂 While I can manually adjust it, I usually don’t take the time. Perhaps I ought to consider that in the future!

    Again, so glad we are getting acquainted with each other.

    Sue

  6. Marcie says:

    Love it!! Absolutely magical. A technique I think I might play with myself!!!

  7. petra says:

    I like it, a job well done

  8. elk says:

    i enjoy seeing your work in different ways..it is so artistic. thank you for your link yesterday, I was feeling less than poetic and it lifted my spirit 🙂

  9. Ginnie says:

    I love it, too, Sue, and you’ve just inspired me. I’ve done texture overlays before but never two images like this. Great idea and great execution!

  10. it’s super beautiful and I love know the background of why/how you shot it. 🙂

  11. Suzanne Roach says:

    Love this image Sue! Great color and texture! Very artistic!

  12. Diane says:

    I really like the technique Sue. It works very well and the contrast between the sharp focus and the dreamy other image together works great together.

Leave a Reply

