Purple Coneflowers

Yesterday was very cloudy and overcast; it felt like it could rain at any given moment.  After running some errands downtown, I drove around the riverfront.  This large patch of purple coneflowers in the downtown parking lot called out to me.  Yes, I said downtown parking lot!  The overcast day meant nice lighting in spite of it being the middle of the afternoon.

Starting with a mass of  flowers…

.

I love the bokeh on this one….

Moral of the story:  Carry your camera with you everywhere.  You never know where the next photo will be found.  🙂

This entry was posted in Sue Henry Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Purple Coneflowers

  1. graspthemoment says:

    My thoughts exactly Sue!!! Wonderful work as always.

    SCORE!! I’m the first one to comment!! WOOT!

  2. Totally gorgeous! 🙂 Nice light coloring on both….

  3. Mike Palmer says:

    WOW!! Love it Sue!!

  4. Lovely lovely shots Sue. The colours are just luscious.

  5. Anita says:

    Really excellent, especially the second one. Gorgeous bokeh! Good reminder to take camera.

  6. mary says:

    Oh, they are both lovely shots, Sue!

  7. Marcie says:

    Beautiful!!! You’re way ahead of us. We won’t have coneflowers – I don’t think – for at least another month. Love how they fill the frame in the first image..and the softness of the background blurr in the second.

  8. Suzanne says:

    You’re so right, Sue. I carry a Canon G9 with me at all times and have gotten a number of good shots worth posting. I love these flowers and you have captured them beautifully.

  9. Enigma3 says:

    The second one is very cool. The pink in contrast to the background makes the shot. Nice work!

  10. Bo says:

    Pretty. Our coneflowers aren’t even thinking about showing color.

    And “take the camera everywhere” are now words I live by. I got tired of saying, “Agh! I wish I had my camera!” 🙂

  11. cara says:

    Beautiful flowers. I especially love the second shot. I wish I could get into the mindset of carrying my camera everywhere, but I can’t really imagine lugging a nikon DSLR with me all the time. Did you use your good camera for these shots or a more portable one??

  12. Puna says:

    I love the bokeh too! Beautiful~

  13. that’s now interesting… we were yesterday at the same spot in down town – always with my camera…LOL…and I made pictures of the same flowers 🙂 there were also yellow lilies, right???

    Susanne

  14. Toni says:

    My camera goes with me every where I go – and it is a DSLR, with 3 extra lenses. My backpack comes in very handy.

    Isn’t bokeh delicious – love yours! Cone flowers are one of my favorites.

  15. elk says:

    oh
    my
    goodness!
    these are so magical…
    always have it in the purse

  16. Julie says:

    Stunning, both shots. 🙂

  17. It’s great that you had your camera with you to capture these. Wonderful!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

