The Little Church in the Wildwood

It was a very rural area in the Shawnee National Forest area of Southern Illinois.  The gravel road was narrow, winding, and  not well marked.

I spotted the little white country church and immediately pulled over; couldn’t pass up the photo opportunity!  Visions of days gone by flooded my mind.  The building was so quaint; the setting picture perfect.

While exploring the pristine grounds surrounding the sweet little church, memories of my early days as a church organist flashed through my mind; recalling the old Gospel tune “Come to the Church in the Wildwood.”  The older members of the congregation would often request that hymn.  This church also made me think back on some funerals for some of my husband’s older relatives; funerals held in a rural setting similiar to this.

There were pews inside the building, but I couldn’t get in the building or reach high enough to photograph through the windows.  BUT…these little treasures were within camera range!

The men’s room

and, the ladies room!

This entry was posted in Sue Henry Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Little Church in the Wildwood

  1. Marcie says:

    Love the soft dappled light you’ve captured in these images. Looks so very idyllic!!!

  2. elk says:

    both series of your time in the woods are so pretty, it really is green and the church so quaint!

  3. this church is pretty and rustic Sue…love how it looks a bit removed from society too.

  4. Enigma3 says:

    That church reminds me of “The Little House On The Praire” . Incredible find. The out houses are something else.

  5. Lisa says:

    What a pretty little church, your images definitely capture the mood :). It looks like such beautiful countryside in that area.

  6. JRP says:

    I totally love all the shadows that the trees created on that first shot!!!

    What a great little find. I would have stopped too…I have a growing collection of church photos! 🙂

  7. I love your post and the You Tube clip of “Come to the Church in the Wildwoods”. I know where a few churches in MS are that look very similar to the one you found. I was just thinking of how thankful I am for church and the image of the old white country church always conjures up in my mind.

Leave a Reply

