Phyllis’ Irises

While I was in Illinois visiting my father, I got up early one morning to shoot photos at my cousin’s place — often referred to as “The Timber.”  The light was glorious and the wind still.

Many of you have viewed images that I have made at her place before — such as here, here, and here.  She has many little “vignettes” up and down the long and winding lane which leads to their home.  This trip the irises were at their prime.

Often, as a thank you to friends or family, I will make note-cards and give them to the owner of a location I have photographed.  I think the individual irises that follow will be especially nice note cards for Phyllis.

Blogging friend, Anita Bower, has posted a beautiful “fine art” photo of an iris.  You might enjoy viewing it; it’s worth the “click” — click here.

I didn’t have the opportunity to work on any “fine art” photos during this trip to Illinois, but I do have some exciting “fine art” news that I will soon be sharing.  As they say, “Stay tuned!”

This entry was posted in Sue Henry Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Phyllis’ Irises

  1. mary says:

    Such beautiful images, Sue! I love the first one, of the lane, and the macros of the irises will make beautiful note cards. 🙂

  2. Lovely lovely images. The light streaming in the first one is magical.

  3. I’m so glad you had a good visit and that the wind was still enough for you to get such beautiful shots. When you make notecards are you able to do a variety pack? I can only seem to find vendors that want to do the same image on multiple cards instead of a variety pack.

    Super happy you are back Sue!

  4. Mike Palmer says:

    Excellent color and details Sue, My fav is the yellow one

  5. elk says:

    great to see these beautiful iris….i missed your photos!

  6. JRP says:

    I’m certainly looking forward to your fine art news?!?! Hmmmm what can it be? Can’t wait.

    These iris are fantastic. The DOF is wonderful where the greens really pop.

  7. Bo says:

    Nicely captured. Reminds me I need to go get some photos of an iris I planted that came from my grandfather’s garden in the 70s.

  8. Enigma3 says:

    Sue,

    I really like the lighting in the first photo which shows a perfect exposure. The flower shots are beautiful as well. Nice to see you back.

    Wolf

  9. Oscar says:

    Wow, what nice blue Iris’s Like eyes almost! (iris – eyes) well that me.

    Real nice Sue!!!!

    BTW Got picture framed finally and will send picture of us soon.

  10. sharon says:

    These are beautiful!

    I had some photo cards made from Mpix. I got the glossy finish and think they are wonderful! The only draw back is you have to order 24 of the same design. But I am splitting them up and giving sets out to the teachers as a thank you.

  11. Marcie says:

    Such a lovely series of images. Love the color..the light.

  12. Lisa says:

    Irises are one of my favourite flowers. these are beautiful especially the yellow one 🙂

  13. Julie McLeod says:

    The sunbeams in your first image are so beautiful and they bring the image to life. Of the irises, my favorite is the second-to-last – the color is so intense and I’m drawn by the odd horizontal stem…

  14. Anita says:

    Beautiful, beautiful images of Iris! Gorgeous colors and excellent capture.

    Thank you so much for linking my Iris image! So very kind of you. 🙂

    I look forward to your fine art news. I’m a bit curious as to what is considered fine art and what not. I don’t consider my photos fine art. Perhaps when you share your news with us I will gain some clarity.

    Anita 🙂

Leave a Reply

