The Legend of the Dogwood

(click to view larger)


The Legend of the Dogwood

At the time of the crucifixion, the dogwood had reached the size of the mighty oak tree. So strong and firm was the wood that it was chosen as the timber for Jesus’ cross.

To be used for such a cruel purpose greatly distressed the dogwood. While nailed upon it, Jesus sensed this, and in his compassion said. “Because of your pity for my suffering, never again shall the dogwood tree grow large enough to be used for a cross. Henceforth, it shall be slender, bent, and twisted, and its blossoms shall be in the form of a cross–two long and two short petals.

“In the center of the outer edge of each petal will be the print of nails. In the center of the flower, stained with blood, will be a crown of thorns so that all who see it will remember.”

This entry was posted in Sue Henry Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Legend of the Dogwood

  1. elk says:

    i did not know of this ~thanks for sharing it…& your beautiful image, I am so glad to have found your unending wealth of beauty here

    …i am going to post the last of my dogwood series on friday

  2. cara says:

    What a fascinating story. I had never heard that. Our wild dogwoods don’t look like that. Your photo matches the story perfectly. Fascinating.

  3. I didn’t know this story either Sue…very interesting, and a lovely capture.

  4. Marcie says:

    Have never heard this story before. Thanks for sharing. And what a wonderful..perfectly simple and elegant image to accompany it.

  5. Se'Lah says:

    What a great story. Happy Love Thursday and Happy Easter !!!

  6. I never heard this legend till now. Thank you Sue. I learn a lot from you. Such a fitting post for this day and this holiday.

  7. Mary says:

    I love Dogwoods and the Lengend that goes with!
    Thanks for sharing this!

  8. dianeschuller says:

    what a delightful legend!

  9. Toni says:

    New story for me as well – loved it. Dogwoods are a favorite and this is quite lovely.

  10. Jammie says:

    Sue, your work is wonderful and very heart felt. Thank you for referring others to my blog. I am a Smugmug member, too. I look forward to reviewing your portfolio.

    http://www.jamkat59.smugmug.com

  11. I love that story! Your pictures are beautiful. Happy Easter!

  12. oscarstavern says:

    I’ll have to tell that to the 3 I have in my yard!

Leave a Reply

