Farmer’s Junction – Ferris, IL

Ferris, IL: population 168. My father’s birthplace.  And, currently home of Farmer’s Junction Cafe!

These were taken from inside the car while my father was driving through Ferris –  a few highlights of Ferris.

You CAN get to Ferris by taking the “hard road” but I like to go the scenic route.

Why in the world would anyone go to Ferris, you may ask.  YUM!!!  The Farmer’s Junction Cafe! Talk about home cooked comfort food.  This is THE place for dinner.

Now, most of my blog visitors have dinner at night for their evening meal.  But, in the country, dinner is the noon meal.

I’ve been at Farmer’s Junction when a farmer (actually my cousin’s son) would leave his tractor running outside while he went inside to eat dinner.  I’ve also been at Farmer’s Junction when the local attorneys would drive the 10 – 12 miles from the Hancock County Courthouse to eat their noon meal.  The large tables and special of the day insures a quick and tasty meal in a relaxed, comfortable environment.

Farmer’s Junction Cafe is located in the former Ferris High School building; the small cafeteria serving as the restaurant.

The Farmer’s Junction Cafe has little vignettes all over the place — the the hallway, throughout the cafe, even in the restrooms.  The manager graciously allowed me to photograph some of the personal touches that simply aren’t found in many other restaurants.  Thanks Coco!

This entry was posted in Sue Henry Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Farmer’s Junction – Ferris, IL

  1. Marcie says:

    Love the timeless sense of processing. Excellent!

  2. Bo says:

    Awesome. I used to eat my dinner at lunch when I was a kid! 🙂

  3. Great processing on these again Sue, and a nice story too.

  4. Suzanne Roach says:

    Beautiful series Sue. Love the vintage processing…and the story.

  5. Toni says:

    Love all the photos of the vignettes. Love the processing, too. It suits the photos quite well.

  6. roentarre says:

    The toning and the colour of the photos in this series are stunning

  7. Lisa says:

    Thanks for the guided tour, it all looks full of character in every sense :).

  8. I would probably want to take the scenic route too. And the cafe sounds great.

  9. Se'lah says:

    Love the classic look of these shots.

  10. oscarstavern says:

    Wow what a nice series of images. I like these a lot!

  11. JRP says:

    I love the processing you chose for the detail shots. It fits perfectly.

    It sounds like a sweet quaint place to visit for a meal!

    The tree shot (#3) is great. 🙂

  12. Coco says:

    Sue, I really enjoy seeing you and your father come into the Farmers Junction Cafe. It is all the sweet families that I enjoy the most about the cafe. I especially enjoy hearing all the memories about the old school house and the many children that attended there, some that still come into eat every afternoon.
    Your photos are amazing! And I have enjoyed them so much.
    Thank You,
    Coco
    Farmers Junction Cafe
    “Where Friends and Families Gather”

  13. John Leighton says:

    I went to school there back in 1956 -1958, so many fond memories. I lived in the 2nd to last house on the right on the other end of town. Butch & Sarah Mumpower lived across the street. I went to the Methodist Church.

Leave a Reply

