Ready for Some Color!

The television won’t let us forget that our community is still recouperating from the devastation of the recent ice storm.  We continue to count our blessings that our personal lives were only mildly “inconvenienced” rather totally uprooted like so many others.

Do you feel a “but” coming?

But, I’m tired of ice.  I’m a little bored.  I was certainly ready for fresh inspiration and subjects to photograph.

Yesterday afternoon while getting my bottled water and battery supply re-stocked, I stopped by a local florist thinking I would buy a small bouquet of fresh flowers to photograph.  The florist only had “funeral type” arrangements in stock.  When I described what I was looking for, they offered me their “mis-cuts” and left-overs.  And, when I pulled out my wallet, they said “Put your money away.  We would have thrown these away anyway.”

I certainly have found a great deal of pleasure from my un-expected gift.  I hope you enjoy, as well.

(You may click to view the image in full size.)

.

.

.

This entry was posted in Sue Henry Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Ready for Some Color!

  1. julielawsonphotography says:

    Oh Sue! This causes me to yearn for the warmth of spring. I don’t have the ice to contend with, but do have the cold. I’m fed up with freezing and slipping on snow/turned to ice. What a blessing that you were given at your florist. This little taste of color is just what I needed.

    Hugs

  2. Great “pick up” shots Sue. Love the colour and composition (as always!). We [finally] have snow in the UK and its brought the whole country to its knees!

  3. graspthemoment says:

    simply beautiful. Thanks for bringing some wonderful color into my day!

  4. pretty touches of spring..so early. Good idea buying some color! 🙂

  5. Vinnie says:

    It’s great to see flowers in winter. Thank you.
    PS. Are you still writing 2008? 🙂

  6. Marcie says:

    So nice to see a bit of winter color!! Heart-warming..y’know??

  7. colblue says:

    Lovely subtle colouring in these, great job Sue!! 🙂

  8. Grandpa says:

    Sue – all lovely but that second one is a framer!

  9. Lisa says:

    what a lovely gift from the florist and gorgeous shots!

  10. JRP says:

    how did i get so behind on your blog?? OMG!

    what a sweet gift they gave you…and what a wonderful set of photos you took. You should print some and bring them over the florist. 🙂

Leave a Reply

