Sh! It’s a Secret!

I’ll whisper it to you if you’ll get in real close.

I discovered a new trick yesterday.  Well, new to me anyway.  Photos of scrapbooking paper can be made into textures for layers.

My discovery started at the local craft store.  I noticed the wonderful papers that were marked “7 for $1.00.”  It was worth a try, I thought.  I had blown a dollar before hadn’t I?

So I quickly selected seven papers and paid my $1.04.

Here are the ones I selected:

1. 

2. 

3. 

4. 

5. 

6. 

7. 

When I got home I made an improvised studio set up that consisted of a clothes drying rack placed in front of a large window.  One at a time the papers were clipped to the rack with clothes pins.  I took a photo of each paper; applied a Lightroom preset; and voila….my own texture creations.  I can go back and change the texture as I want simply by going back to the original and making any desired adjustments  in Lightroom or Photoshop.

They work! Here’s  a quick sample —

Now I don’t have to go around saying “Texture credit ___________”

The sky is the limit.  I have my eye on some other papers and plan to go back to the store — now that I know this will work.

Seven for a dollar.  Not bad for some quick and easy textures!  And…..a way to fight the winter time blues.

This entry was posted in Sue Henry Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Sh! It’s a Secret!

  1. Julie McLeod says:

    Good idea, Sue! Your creativity is inspiring!

  2. Bo says:

    Do you have to credit the paper manufacturer if you are using it as a background?

  3. oscarstavern says:

    Hey – That looks neat!

  4. photorover says:

    Brilliant!!

    Thanks for sharing your secrets!

  5. Marcie says:

    Another way you can do this is by scanning (if you have a scanner) the papers into photoshop or lightroom or whatever post-processing program you’re working with. Have done so myself. Love how you’ve used the ‘texture’ with the image.

  6. suehenryphotography says:

    Bo,
    I’m not a lawyer and really don’t have a definitive answer for your question. But here is my thought process (justification/rationalization). And, being truthful, I really didn’t give this much thought until you posed the question. So….I’m glad you asked! 🙂

    When I go to WalMart and buy a bouquet of flowers and a vase to allow me to use the items as a subject for photography I don’t credit WalMart for the flowers or the vase.

    I purchased the papers (designed for creative purposes) and am using them for my own creative purposes.

    If anyone reads this and has any insight into this question, I would welcome their comments.

    Again….great comment and good food for thought!

  7. suehenryphotography says:

    Interesting, Marcie. I may give scanning a try.

  8. colblue says:

    Very creative idea, I had never thought of doing that! I might have to look into it myself.

    Good job Sue!!

  9. susanne49 says:

    I don’t think you have to credit the paper manufacturer. If I buy fabrics to photograph something I don’t have to credit them either, right? The same like you describe with WalMart. This is not a licensing issue and paper or fabrics are made for end users like we are.

    You had the best idea to buy your own backgrounds, how clever! 🙂 I like your choices!

    Sue’s Daily Photography

  10. Vinnie says:

    Nice creativity! I love the idea.

  11. Mike Palmer says:

    very creative!! good find

  12. JRP says:

    Sue, I love this idea…and I’m digging that ones you chose! You’re so crafty & creative!

    Now I need to make some time to buy some paper like this and try it myself because I love em!!!

  13. Anita Bower says:

    Great creative idea!!

  14. Lisa says:

    these will make very pretty textures.

  15. Elaine says:

    Sue, I love this! I have been wanting to play with textures and this technique but didn’t know where to start! Now, I do!!!

Leave a Reply

