Back to Nature and Natural Beauty

(Do you recognize the “sticks” from an earlier post? Revisit SIMPLICITY)

Many of you have asked where I find my images that show the beauty of nature or images that perhaps are filled with natural beauty. And, knowing that Paducah, KY is really just a small spot on the map for most people, I thought I might provide a very quick overview of our area.

It really wasn’t until I fully retired nearly two years ago that I truly have taken the time to explore and enjoy the beauty that surrounds us in this area.

Yes, when my son was young, we camped, sailed, and hiked some, but we truly didn’t soak in the beauty of nature. I think we were too busy then and perhaps in a different stage of life.

Now, with camera in hand, I often hop in the car for a drive solely to soak in all that nature provides us. And take photos, of course.

As you look on the map below, a short 30 minute drive to the East of us gets us to an area known as “Land Between the Lakes.”

tileprintphp1

Many of my images are made in the Grand Rivers/Kentucky Lake area. The images with water in them, or that are related to water, usually have been made in this area.

However, Paducah is located near four rivers — the Ohio, Cumberland, Clarks, and Tennessee. Thus, the rivers provide me great beauty as well.

If we head out a little North West of Paducah and cross over the river to Illinois, we have a whole new realm of beauty that awaits us.

Nearly all of my images with large rocks or wildflowers have been made at either Giant City State Park or Ferne Clyffe State Park.

To add to the beauty of our area, while we are a comfortable sized community rich in business, medical, and cultural opportunities, we are still somewhat rural. Simply walking around my neighborhood or taking short little drives around the county provide rich photo opportunities.

I hope this helps you know a little more about the area in which I live. No, Paducah is not the Grand Teton’s or the Great Smokies but it’s a great place to visit and a great place to live.

This entry was posted in landscape, nature, photograph, Sue Henry Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Back to Nature and Natural Beauty

  1. Marcie says:

    Love the scenic tour you’ve taken us on. Looks like you have found paradise!!!! Beautiful images.

  2. Julie McLeod says:

    What a good idea for a post. I’m always intrigued by the locales of my blogging friends. You seem to be blessed with particularly beautiful surroundings…

  3. Mike Palmer says:

    Thanks for the tour –

  4. susanne49 says:

    You’re living on a very nice place in this country, Sue! Thanks for sharing all these beautiful photographs. Looking forward to more to come 🙂

  5. Oscar says:

    Wow Sue! Great shots!!! That is some beautiful country there. Thanks for the tour! I’ll leave a tip in the jar!

  6. JRP says:

    Sue – wonderful photo essay of your area. I definitely would have a field day in such a beautiful area!

  7. Lisa says:

    Thanks for the guided tour, lovely shots.

  8. tomamoisii says:

    Hello again, Sue!
    Gotta say…you made some quite interesting shots since i last visited the blog! 😀
    Love the autumn colors on photo #6…looks a little bit like a windows wallpaper 🙂
    btw, i added your blog address to my blogroll ( no need to do the same thing if you don’t wanna, i just thought your photos are great and it would be nice to have you in my blogroll) 🙂
    See you back on Photoforum
    Cheers,Tom

  9. suehenryphotography says:

    Welcome back, Tom! Thanks for the visit and comments. I have added you to my blogroll!

  10. Bo says:

    Paducah is lovely. Thanks for the mini-tour. We DO have a lot in common, living in just *regular* towns. And while Paducah has 4 rivers, Madison has 4 lakes in her boundaries. It’s focus is education and government and heavy on cultural activities, but still small enough, too – I can be in farmland and the country in 5 minutes. They sound like ideal places to live, don’t they. ( I am terribly fond of my city!)

    And I’m only been shooting in the last couple of years, kind of an empty nest thing. The time thing is a big thing, isn’t it?

  11. Bo says:

    I had to come back because I meant to comment on the first photo. I love the colors in this one, and those reeds or whatever that are popping out of the water. That really makes the photo!

  12. suehenryphotography says:

    Bo,
    On one of the forums I frequent, someone posted the following information about the sticks in the lake.

    “From Captain Dave Stewart.. KY Lake Guide
    The posts in the picture are what we call “Crappie Beds” here on the lakes. They are basically fish attractors made by pounding stakes into the bottom of the lake. Typically they are put in to attract Crappie but will attract other fish as well. You will see some in the backs of most creeks and bays here that are put in and maintained by KDFW…these are marked during summer pool with a white plastic pipe driven into the middle of the bed but it will be much higher than the surrounding wooden stakes so that folks can locate it. The one in the picture is typical of those put in by locals here. This one would be underwater completely during summer pool thus “hiding” it from anglers that do not know it is there..these are very hard to pick up on sonar.
    Dave
    Captain Dave Stewart
    Bass Buster Guide Service”

    I found the information interesting.

  13. Anita Bower says:

    Sue:
    I enjoyed the tour of your area. A wonderful idea and well done. Your area offers much beauty, however, I think you have a gift for seeing that beauty and capturing it. As you wrote, it is not the knock-your-socks-off beauty that all can see, but the subtle beauty of water, trees, flowers, light, people which takes a bit of effort and time to appreciate.
    I resonate with your experience of having time upon retirement to really explore and see. I retired a bit over a year ago, and my photography has grown as I have time to devote to it. And, it is so much fun!
    Anita

Leave a Reply

