Beneath the Tree

(As a reminder to viewers, you may click on images to view in full size.)
“How silently they tumble down

And come to rest upon the ground

To lay a carpet, rich and rare,

Beneath the trees without a care,

Content to sleep, their work well done,

Colors gleaming in the sun.

~

At other times, they wildly fly

Until they nearly reach the sky.

Twisting, turning through the air

Till all the trees stand stark and bare.

Exhausted, drop to earth below

To wait, like children, for the snow.”

– Elsie N. Brady, Leaves

This entry was posted in landscape, nature, photograph, Sue Henry Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Beneath the Tree

  1. susanne49 says:

    Nice carpet of leafs. I made two days ago almost the same photo, catching the peak of fall in Columbia, SC. Fall is such a lovely season.

  2. Beau Dodson says:

    Very nice colors Sue πŸ™‚

    I love it.

  3. Anita Bower says:

    I just love leaves on the ground under the trees. Nice capture!
    Hope you enjoy visiting the bloggers I listed. πŸ™‚

  4. Lisa says:

    I can almost hear the leaves crunch under my feet, lovely.

  5. Julie McLeod says:

    I love the poem too…

  6. Mike Palmer says:

    I like your approach here Sue – It is a interesting composition

  7. suehenryphotography says:

    Thanks all. I appreciate the visits and comments. Living on a golf course, they get rid of the leaves almost before they touch the ground! This image was made on our trip to the Kentucky Lake area; a more “natural” surrounding.

  8. Paul says:

    Lovely picture, wonderful blog! Thank you Beau for listing this page πŸ™‚

  9. suehenryphotography says:

    Paul…..Welcome! Thanks for visiting my blog. Any friend of Beau’s is a friend of mine. πŸ™‚ I hope that you will stop by and visit again.

  10. Marcie says:

    I could almost get lost in these leaves. Wonderful!!!!

  11. JRP says:

    Sue, I spent some time on the ground at the park recently marveling at all of the leaves on the ground. This image made me smile because i love all the leaves and the color they provide. Like dressing up the boring green grass. πŸ™‚

    I actually pulled a “Jen” and laid on the ground hoping I could capture leaves falling from the tree coming down over my camera. I dont think I succeeded. I have to worj on them still and post some. I may do that tonight. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

