My Daddy’s Squirrel

While I was in Illinois visiting my father, he and I enjoyed watching the squirrels play in his yard. And he wanted me to photograph the squirrels. πŸ™‚ So I followed the squirrels around one morning, watching them collect nuts, scamper up daddy’s trees, jump from limb to limb and tree to tree, and stick their heads in the hole in the tree where I think the babies might have been.

The squirrel images brought a great deal of pleasure to my 88 year old father. Daddy even asked me to take my computer to his 90 year old friend and show him the squirrel pictures!

Oh, the things we GLADLY do for our parents!

I’m so excited this morning. I just received word that I have been accepted to attend a Tony Sweet Photography Workshop next spring in the Smoky Mountains! Whoo Hoo! You know that Tony Sweet has been a photography “idol” of mine for quite some time and that I greatly admire his work. To attend a Tony Sweet Workshop has been a photography dream and goal of mine for nearly two years.

To spend this time learning from him, having him critique my work, and enjoy the beauty of the Smokies in the spring…..well, I’m speechless! And very grateful for the opportunity.

This entry was posted in Sue Henry Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to My Daddy’s Squirrel

  1. wonderful capture of the little tree man. I am so happy you will be attending that workshop! How exciting!!!

    What great news before the long weekend.

  2. Mike Palmer says:

    It is a cool shot of the guy, I can see why your Dad wanted to show you off

    Congrats on the class

  3. Julie McLeod says:

    That’s a great shot, Sue. We have to refer to them by the code name ‘SQ’ in our house. A mere mention of the full name sends Hamish into an uncontrollable barking fit. I’m afraid he’s going to go right through the front window one day… πŸ™‚

    Great news about the workshop!

  4. Beau Dodson says:

    I love the little squirrel πŸ™‚

  5. David says:

    I am so jealous about the workshop! Have a good time in those foothills! Where is the workshop going to be held?

  6. suehenryphotography says:

    Hi David…..The workshop is going to be held in and around the Cades Cove area. I may have to start a “telethon” to acquire to the required supplies — they have a list; everything from filters, lens, and software to waterproof hiking boots! Thank goodness I already have the laptop and external hard drive they want one to bring!

    And….I think I’d best get busy with the walking/exercise routine or I won’t be able to keep up! πŸ™‚

    We will shoot from dawn to dusk; then share and critique photos! Can’t wait.

  7. Anita Bower says:

    Sue: Wonderful news about the workshop!!! So very exciting! Tony Sweet’s images are gorgeous. You will have such a great time and learn so much. This is a nice treat you are giving yourself and will help you grow as a photographer.

    The squirrel image is nice. I like how the squirrel blends in with all the browns. So nice that your father enjoyed the images, and so nice of you to take the photos.

  8. Anita Bower says:

    P.S. I will be interested to know about the schedule at the Tony Sweet workshop. I haven’t tried a several-day workshop partle because I don’t think I could keep up the pace with such a full schedule of activities! πŸ™‚

  9. graspthemoment says:

    WOW!!! Great news Sue!!! I’m very jealous of you!!! Have a blast! I’m sure he’ll be as impressed with your work as all of us are.

    (neat squirrel too.)

  10. Bo says:

    Lucky you going to the Smokies AND doing a Tony Sweet workshop. Double fun.

    My husband and I went to the Smokies about 30 years ago – camped in May, mostly in the rain. We went several miles into the wilds looking for a little known waterfall, ran into a Mama bear and her two cubs. We reversed and headed out, and we were only a quarter mile form our destination. I’ve always wanted to go back to see those falls – sans Mama bear. πŸ™‚

  11. suehenryphotography says:

    Welcome Bo to my photography blog. I certainly enjoyed visiting your blog and hope you will enjoy mine as well. And, as a famous blogger once wrote “comments are like the whipped cream on top of a hot fudge sundae!” Thanks!

    To all — I’m really enjoying your comments about my spring workshop!

  12. Shari says:

    I love this photo. I love squirrels though lol!!!

  13. JRP says:

    I always have fun photographing the squirrels. This image is wonderful. I think it’s the the warm earth tones and feel I get from his coloring and the leaves and tree.

    Congrats on the workshop. I’d love to go! I should do something like that one day…but I think I’d want to do it with a friend. One day I will have to plan to go. I’m single now so I can do anything my heart desires, right? πŸ™‚

  14. suehenryphotography says:

    Shari, Welcome! I’m not sure how you discovered my blog, but I am certainly glad that you did. Please come back and visit from time to time!

    Jen……Glad you’ve made it back home safely and glad to have you stop by for a visit.

Leave a Reply

