I Don’t Know How You Do It!

Portrait photographers.  How do you do it?  How do you get little ones to sit still?

My older grandson visited us so I took the opportunity to practice; practice chasing down a little monkey! One shot (that I won’t share) clearly showed the chocolate kiss in and ON his mouth!  I guess the bribery is supposed to take place AFTER the photo shoot!

You know I hate to use the on camera flash, but I finally resorted to using it.  I also dusted off the Gary Fong diffuser and decided to give it another try.  It had been in my camera bag far too long!

I guess we’ll call this series “Granny Sue’s Little Monkey.”

~~~~~~

“J” sit up, please.

“J” pllleeeaaase sit up!

“Now what are you up to?”

“Whew, thank you!  You deserve a kiss.”

“Don’t ALL four year olds bring their own laptop to Granny’s house when they come to visit?”


This entry was posted in photograph, Sue Henry Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to I Don’t Know How You Do It!

  1. susanne49 says:

    These are an absolutely entertaining and perfect series, Sue! And your handsome model is adorable!!

    I can see the fun you both had in this session 🙂

    To answer you question to my rose photo: do you know Picasa? I like to play with…. 🙂

  2. Mike Palmer says:

    Catching up – you have been busy this week – I love the fall pics – The wagon wheel is my fav – nice pop

  3. oscarstavern says:

    believe it or not….. “Fart” noises. They’ll smile and laugh. Take it from a grandpa. Cute shots!

  4. One thing for sure…your images are sharp as a tack! I don’t know how to get them to sit still that’s why I shoot mostly adults. Kidding. Try bribing the little one!

  5. suehenryphotography says:

    I’m absolutely laughing….you all are hilarious.

    Oscar….good to hear from you again. It’s been awhile. “Fart” noises. LOL! He’d be rolling on the floor, doing somersaults!

    Heather….”sharp as a tack” is NOT a phrase usually used in conjunction with my images! heh heh! Must have been the flash! You know, the thing I usually avoid like the plague!

    Susanne and Mike….I ALWAYS appreciate your visits and love to hear your comments.

  6. Julie McLeod says:

    He just looks full of mischief – I can see why you have trouble getting him to sit still. But, you did a fantastic job on these…

  7. Marcie says:

    Granny Sue has a very sweet monkey!!! Wonderful images. FUN!

  8. Anita Bower says:

    These are great images! I especially like the first, third and fourth. I think the flash and diffuser worked quite well, don’t you? I, too, avoid using my flash, in fact, have considered selling my off camera flash. As for keeping an active 4 year old still–imposible! Thanks for sharing.

  9. Anita Bower says:

    Sue: Thank you for commenting on my images. Especially for suggesting the Yellow Mums for a card. I’m hoping to make some cards, and I appreciate the feedback.

  10. graspthemoment says:

    It’s why I don’t do portraits like others do. No way in hell I could get anyone to sit still, especially my two monkeys! I just play with them, then pull the camera out.

  11. JRP says:

    I love that he brings his laptop! How cute is he. I was looking at these on your Flickr enjoying seeing his sweet little smile! I always enjoy your grandson’s photos!

Leave a Reply

