Days Grow Long

The falling leaves drift by the window
The autumn leaves of red and gold
I see your lips, the summer kisses
The sun-burned hands I used to hold
Since you went away the days grow long
And soon I’ll hear old winter’s song
But I miss you most of all my darling
When autumn leaves start to fall.
Johnny Mercer

Images again made at Oak Grove Cemetery located in Paducah, KY.

I was nearly finished with my afternoon shooting when the magnolia tree captured my attention. It struck me how the fallen leaves and seed pods looked like floral offerings that might have been left for one who had passed on.

Perhaps having just returned from visiting my Father, and knowing the deep, deep loneliness and emptiness he still feels as a result of Mother’s death over two years ago, has made me more aware or observant while visiting the cemetery.

This series of images (presented in the past few posts) that were made in the cemetery might be considered grim or “dark” by some. It is my hope you feel the beauty, reverence, and respect that was intended.

This entry was posted in photograph, Sue Henry Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Days Grow Long

  1. susanne49 says:

    This is just BEAUTIFUL, Sue! I have recognized also all those Magnolia buds with the red seeds allover and specially in cemeteries. Your post is beautiful today!

    It seems we both have the same ideas to bring up cemetery subjects.:)

  2. julielawsonphotography says:

    wonderful selective lighting on the first one. I love it when sunlight highlights select areas. Great job!!

  3. Marcie says:

    Absolutely beautiful. Love the subtlety of colors..the compositions..the tonalities. Excellent!

  4. Beautiful Selective colouring on the second image, I like the rich tones you’ve achieved. Very good work!

  5. Lisa says:

    I’ve enjoyed seeing these cemetary shots, I like the colouring on the second one here.

  6. suehenryphotography says:

    Colin, welcome to my blog. Thanks for the visit and the comment. Hope to see you back again!

    Suzanne, Julie, Marcie, Lisa……always nice to see that you have visited my blog! Thanks for the nice comment.s

  7. Anita Bower says:

    I especially like the second imge, with the Magnolia leaves.
    Your series of images from the cemetary have not been grim nor dark. They, and the quotes you chose for them, help me appreciate the goodness of life now, knowing it will not always be so. Also, I remember my parents, both of whom have passed, with love. An awareness of death is a good thing.

  8. Julie McLeod says:

    It’s a wonderful series, Sue. Your cemetery seems to present many opportunities for creative photographs…

  9. Jen says:

    They aren’t grim or dark in my opinion.

    The poem you chose is also wonderful and beautiful….

    The coloring you chose for the 2nd shot works very well for the effect you were trying to create. Lovely, thoughtful series Sue.

Leave a Reply

