The River Bank

“Rivers are magnets for the imagination, for conscious pondering and subconscious dreams, thrills and fears. People stare into the moving water, captivated, as they are when gazing into a fire. What is it that draws and holds us? The rivers’ reflections of our lives and experiences are endless. The water calls up our own ambitions of flowing with ease, of navigating the unknown. Streams represent constant rebirth. The waters flow in, forever new, yet forever the same; they complete a journey from beginning to end, and then they embark on the journey again.”
– Tim Palmer

All images were taken for my personal challenge to get over my fear of photographing people in public settings. Additionally, all photos are fairly straight out of the camera and processed only using the Lightroom preset “Kelsey Smith Lean On Me.”

This entry was posted in photograph, Sue Henry Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The River Bank

  1. susanne49 says:

    I like your series and I think it’s a great idea to therapy yourself to overcome that “fear”. It’s only the first 100 times, after that no more…LOL.. 🙂 I know what you’re talking about!

  2. graspthemoment says:

    Nice series Sue… really like them. Interesting choice for processing.

    As far as your hesitations, its something I hope you get over. As you know I’ve got no problem with that, LOL. (in fact I discussed this in my latest blog.)

    Keep up the awesome work.

  3. Julie McLeod says:

    Now I have some new presets! Thanks, Sue! 🙂

    Tremendous idea to do a series of people enjoying the river in different ways. We live very close to one of the two rivers on which Ottawa was built and the quote you used to introduce your post has given me pause for thought today. Thanks for that too!

    (Don’t you wonder what made the motor scooter man stop there?)

  4. suehenryphotography says:

    Brian, I think I kind of liked the way that preset emphasized the color of the river and highlighted the people/subject matter. I also chose to use the same preset for the entire series, thinking it would emphasize the concept of “series.”

    Julie, I watched the motor scooter guy drive down to the river bank, get off, and sit there — for about 10 -15 minutes. I think he was simply basking in the peaceful water and beautiful day. psst….I added the link to the preset after visiting your blog.

    Suzanne, thanks as always for your visits and comments. And, hopefully, practice WILL make “perfect.” 🙂

  5. Lisa says:

    These are great and I love the look of the preset, very nice tones and vignette.

  6. Jen says:

    Sue,

    I like the vignetting. It puts the emphasis on the “people” and I like what it did to the ocean coloring.

    Good for you for trying again to venture out of our comfort zone!

Leave a Reply

