An Insect’s View…

Nature will bear the closest inspection. She invites us to lay our eye level with her smallest leaf, and take an insect view of its plain.
Henry David Thoreau

“Autumn is a second spring where every leaf is a flower.” Albert Camus

The story goes like this.

I hate flash. Well, I hate the flash that “pops up” on the camera. So, I have avoided using flash during this photography journey that I’ve been enjoying.

Earlier this week I broke down and purchased an external flash. The flash, however, certainly didn’t come with a set of instructions. So, now what am I supposed to do? Experiment and practice, I suppose.

Thus my leaf study. An experiment with using flash. Well, flash and a flashlight! πŸ™‚ I envisioned back lighting a leaf and couldn’t think of any other way to that — so I used a flashlight.

All of these experiments took place in my studio. Er, um, my guest bathroom! Black cloth. Flash light. Tripod. New flash. Please don’t laugh at me. I’m trying to learn!

This entry was posted in Sue Henry Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to An Insect’s View…

  1. Julie McLeod says:

    Well, I’m one or two steps behind you. I practically never use the on-board flash on my camera and NEED to get an external flash. Maybe soon…
    In the meantime, I’ll tag on to your learning process and be all ready to go when I get mine. πŸ˜‰

    These leaves are lovely…

  2. suehenryphotography says:

    LOL….your comments always make me smile! πŸ™‚ Thanks!

  3. susanne49 says:

    I think the totally black background in the last photo makes the impression of a almost flying leaf in the wind. I love it. I like also to see the close up of the nice textures and the intense colors in the first ones.

    You learned very fast, Sue! πŸ™‚

  4. suehenryphotography says:

    Thanks Susanne. I appreciate your “vote of confidence.”

  5. JRP says:

    I wouldn’t ever laugh at you! I love your experiments in the bathroom!

    And #1 YAY you got a flash!!!
    And #2 These are totally gor-ge-o-so (in Jen speak) (gorgeous in English) LOL!!!

    I don’t know how you lit them w/ the flash and flashlight but they are stunning. The colors are rich and beautiful and I really love them!

  6. julielawsonphotography says:

    ooh that would be a cool texture, sue!!! I love these

  7. Anita Bower says:

    Lovely results of your experiment. Beautiful colors and textures and shapes. Well done! I have an external flash and hardly use it because i found it so frustrating!

  8. your last leaf shot is outstanding. Love the details in the first 2 but the last is beautiful.

  9. I love that last shot….simply elegant.Your passion for photography has made a scientest of you, and a student of the scientific method. And you are a natural at it.

Leave a Reply

