People on the Street

Whoa! A very long leap from my favorite nature images, flowers, and landscapes. A very long leap from my peaceful and serene images that soothe my soul.

But, sometimes a gal is supposed to move out of her comfort zone and at least TRY something different. Right?

These are soooooo not me! But I am trying to get enough nerve to invade someone’s personal space and at least TRY to learn to capture some images of people in public.

Now, how obvious is it that I really, really am uncomfortable taking pictures of people. I grabbed this quick shot on the riverfront; hoping no one would catch me. I thought it would be fun to take a picture of someone taking a picture. I’m such a cowherd! You can’t even really see the person taking the picture!

Yes, this was taken while driving my car through the park. Darn. Later I had the perfect opportunity to take a picture of them kissing! And, I chickened out; worried that I was invading their privacy.

This image perhaps comes closest to telling a story. A lazy, late summer afternoon at the riverfront spent looking for rocks and shells. Perhaps grandmother and granddaughter….

I spent quite a bit of time the other day in long conversation with my good friend Beau, who has recently returned from Italy. Beau spent a day with a retired National Geographic Photographer who gave him tips for improving his photos.

As Beau and I talked about his experience with the National Geographic Photographer, he shared some creative and unique tips for shooting people in public; street photography. Beau’s images that we viewed together reflected that he had gained a fresh, creative insight from his session. Maybe one of these days I’ll practice a few of the tips that Beau shared with me.

Sigh. It’s so obvious I have a long way to go in the “street photography” genre! 🙂

This entry was posted in photograph, Sue Henry Photography and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to People on the Street

  1. juliemcleod says:

    Street photography is one of my favorite genres but I am too timid to actually try. I cannot get over the worry about invasion of privacy. I’m glad you posted about this and hope that you will post more of your experiments as you go along. And maybe pass some of Beau’s tips along too. 😉

    I think your shots are quite lovely and all share a similar theme – people interacting with others. To me, that is the most compelling of street photography subjects. With your eye, Sue, you will shine at this too…… 🙂

  2. Enigma3 says:

    Sue,

    You did a really good job on your first try of shooting people in public. Keep it up.

  3. JRP says:

    Sue…this is a wonderful start to getting comfortable in this genre. The last photo is so precious.

    I know it sometimes feels like you are invading someone privacy but it’s also telling the story of life – if you want to think of it that way. If we don’t capture some images like this we would never see the photos that we see in magazines etc that are true “life moments” …. if they were all posed photos where everyone knew they were being photographed I don’t think they would be as compelling.

    Sometimes I get timid when taking shots like this but most of the time if I see a special moment I just have to capture it! 🙂

  4. great serious of outdoor people enjoying life! So much peace and relaxation felt in these photos.

Leave a Reply

