Serving Up Memories

Regular readers of my blog will know that I’m cleaning out the attic in preparation for our upcoming move. I mentioned that many things are getting sold, tossed, or given away.

Over the weekend I stumbled on a box filled with my tennis trophies…..and the memories swelled as I unpacked the box.

I didn’t play tennis until I was about 40 years old. As a matter of fact, I didn’t participate in any sport as a youth; my life was dedicated to music.

However, at about the age of 40 I became involved with USTA League Tennis and became nearly as passionate about tennis as I currently am with photography. I took lessons, practiced nearly every day, played in local, state, and sectional tournaments, met lots of wonderful people, became local league coordinator, won tournaments, awards, trophies……..the list goes on and on and on.

However, when deciding what to keep and what not to keep, it was an easy decision that the box filled with $15.00 plastic trophies needs to go!

These will  more than likely be given  to the local Boys and Girls Club or another charitable group that can take off the award plate and replace it to fit another event. That should help a youth group provide trophies for children at a considerably reduced cost.

Don’t you think that will be a better use for those dusty old trophies?

This entry was posted in photograph, still life, Sue Henry Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Serving Up Memories

  1. David says:

    Wonderful Idea Sue, and as usual a excellent interpretation of the subject through the lens, I thought you took up miniature sculpture over the weekend, along with the photo group AND moving. Are you going to at least keep maybe your first one?

  2. suehenryphotography says:

    Good suggestion, Dave. Perhaps I will save one!

  3. juliemcleod says:

    What a great shot! You’ve captured the essence of the trophies beautifully. Frame and keep the image but toss the trophies… 😉

  4. suehenryphotography says:

    LOL….Thanks, Julie. I hadn’t thought of framing the image!

  5. susanne49 says:

    I just wanted say what David told already: keep the first one! And it’s a great idea to donate those others to the kids. Your photo is great, as usual!

    Thanks also for commenting on my blog.

  6. John says:

    great idea … Im all for helping the kids and any organization associated with them!

    framing the photo of the trophies is an excellent idea! as is keeping your “first”

    my question is ….

    while cleaning out your attic ……

    how much old camera / photography gear did ya find? and if you found some what are you doing with that?

    LOL

  7. John says:

    btw ….. you know me on flickr as the Missouri Hillbilly Redneck 😀

  8. suehenryphotography says:

    John,
    Thanks for visiting my blog…..and WELCOME! Come back again!

    Actually I’m kind of new to this photography stuff and there won’t be any photography gear in the attic. Would have been fun, though, to have found an antique camera!

  9. Lesa Clark says:

    Sue,
    The some of the best tennis memoires I have involve you! Our mixed team will always be our (Dan too) favorite.

    Lesa

  10. suehenryphotography says:

    Awww…..thanks Lesa! We DID have some really, really great times, didn’t we?!?!?!?

  11. JRP says:

    Sue, I learn a new thing about your everyday!

    I agree – keep one as a memento and donating the rest is a WONDERFUL IDEA! I would have never thought of that!

    I think your photograph is a wonderful way to capture the memory of your love of tennis and your achievements. A photo framed on the wall is a much better way to honor the love of the sport then trophies taking up space and collecting dust -right? 🙂 Such a wonderful idea photograph them….I will have to remember this when I have to pack for moving…maybe I can lighten my load of mementos I’m ALWAYS saving…photos should be just as good!

  12. Ginnie says:

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE this accompanying image for this post, Sue. And I love that you picked up tennis at that age…like I did bowling. I totally understand why you’d give the trophies away (maybe it’d be different if they weren’t plastic?) but I also agree with David that you should keep at least one. I hope you did. In the meantimw, what a sweet act of kindness for those lucky enough to receive your gift.

Leave a Reply

