Remembering “Charlotte’s Web”

“You mean you eat flies?” gasped Wilbur


“Certainly. Flies, bugs, grasshoppers, choice beetles, moths, butterflies, tasty cockroaches, gnats, midgets, daddy-long-legs, centipedes, mosquitoes, crickets – anything that is careless enough to get caught in my web. I have to live, don’t I?”


“Why, yes, of course,” said Wilbur. “Do they taste good”


“Delicious. Of course, I don’t really eat them. I drink them – drink their blood. I love blood.”

.

“Fern says the animals talk to each other. Dr Dorian, do you believe animals talk?”


I never heard one say anything,” he replied. “But that proves nothing. It is quite possible that an animal has spoken to me and that I didn’t catch the remark because I wasn’t paying attention. Children pay better attention than grown-ups… Perhaps if people talked less, animals would talk more.”

.

“Why did you do all this for me?” he asked. “I don’t deserve it. I’ve never done anything for you.”


“You have been my friend,” replied Charlotte. “That in itself is a tremendous thing. I wove my webs for you because I liked you. After all, what’s a life, anyway? We’re born, we live a little while, we die… By helping you, perhaps I was trying to lift up my life a trifle. Heavens knows anyone’s life can stand a little
of that.”

While wandering and exploring the gardens at Patti’s 1880 Settlement, I shot some random photos. Brian Walter, Grasp the Moment, always tells such wonderful stories about how his images were taken. And, I’m frequently at a loss for telling a good story.

However, as I was looking at these images, which at the time were totally unrelated and fairly random in nature, a theme started surfacing.

Perhaps the images we shoot CAN tell stories, even if there wasn’t a story behind the image…….

This entry was posted in nature, photograph, still life, Sue Henry Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Remembering “Charlotte’s Web”

  1. Anita Bower says:

    Sue: Thank you so much for visiting my photoblog and commenting. I’m glad you like my photos. 🙂 I love your site! Fabulous photos and words to go with them. I want to rss your site, but, I can’t figure out how. What am I missing?
    Anita

  2. suehenryphotography says:

    Anita,
    It’s an honor to have you visit my site. Thank you.

    To select and mark a site for RSS feed, I simply click on the orange RSS symbol in the address bar. (Or at least that’s where it is on my computer.) I have chosen to set my RSS feeds in Google Reader, but I think others use Yahoo, etc.

    Sue

  3. You are so right about pictures are not related in the begin when you shoot them and sudden you can see a story coming up in your mind and you put them together – et voila… a wonderful picture story is born! And your story is very nice and the photos so wonderful.

    I love to come to your site!

  4. juliemcleod says:

    Sue, I love the thread you wove connecting these images. You have a wonderful way of expressing yourself through words and pictures and I feel lucky you are sharing with us!

    And, I’m so pleased to discover Brian Walter’s blog. Fabulous images and as you say, the story telling is compelling. I am sad though that he doesn’t seem to have an rss feed on his blog. You didn’t find one there did you? (I must have everyone in my blog reader or I can’t cope with all the sites I want to follow….)

  5. JRP says:

    Sue, I’m always inspired by your blog posts. I love this one in particular – it’s so creative how you put all of the photos together as you have here. I love it.

    It makes me want to be more creative on how I share the photos on my blog. 🙂

  6. graspthemoment says:

    Ps… RSS Feed added on my blog!

Leave a Reply

