A Little Doll

As I’m going through my attic in preparation for our upcoming move, I find items I’ve accumulated over the years. How does one decide what to keep, what to give to others, what to sell, and what to throw away.

Some items have sentimental value and others have potential monetary value.  Other items are no longer of use to me but might possibly be of use to others.  Junk. Sadly, I’ve got lots of that too!

This little cutie is an example of the type of item tucked away in a box.  She was forgotten and brought a smile when I stumbled upon her while sorting, tossing, and repacking.

No, I won’t get rid of her.

Some of you younger blog readers might not even know “who” she is and what makes her unique.  A link or two — The Bad Fads Museum and Kewpie Doll

While I am rediscovering some of these lost or hidden “treasures” I’m photographing some of them.  I also am using these images as an opportunity to experiment with some new Lightroom presets.

I seem to jump back and forth between Lightroom and PhotoShop.  For a little while I was spending all of my time in PhotoShop and had put Lightroom on the back burner.

Lightroom is so darn easy to use though.  And Matt’s free presets on Adobe Photoshop Lightroom Killer Tips absolutely can’t be beat.

A couple of recent downloads, graciously shared by Matt Kloskowski, that I’m especially fond of are Vintage New York Look, Nostalgic Effect, and soft focus.

Now, if I could just remember where I got this cute “Little Kewpie Doll.”  I don’t think I’m old enough to have won her at a carnival.  Or am I?

This entry was posted in macro, photograph, Sue Henry Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Little Doll

  1. Vinnie says:

    I’m not quite old enough to have ever owned a kewpie doll like this one but I still enjoyed these pictures. I showed them to my mom (who is old enough) and she just squealed with pleasure. Seeing your pictures brought back memories of the “kewpie doll” for her. Photographing treasures is a real treat sometimes.

  2. suehenryphotography says:

    Vinnie,
    Thanks for visiting my blog and for your kind comments as well. Hope you come back again to visit my blog! Sue

  3. JulieM says:

    What a wonderful find! Ive heard of kewpie dolls but don’t think I have ever seen one. She is so sweet. Any other finds in the attic?

  4. David says:

    I don’t think you are old enough to have won one also! Love the shot. I will have to check out lightroom.

  5. suehenryphotography says:

    No, Dave…. I don’t think I’m old enough to have won one. My Mother was a serious collector of “stuff” and I think she gave it to me at some point in time. Dave, if you have never used Lightroom you really need to check it out! It’s wonderful for basic processing and far easier to use than Photoshop.

    And Julie, my attic is loaded! And most of the “stuff” has got to GO! I’m doing some serious downsizing.

  6. JRP says:

    Sue, what a great treasure! I would find it hard to narrow down what to keep. I’m such a “keeper” of memories…when I have to move soon and pack up this house I’m gonna have a hard time getting rid of anything…

    Goad you are photographing the treasures to share with us!

    I tried to load Lightroom today…and lightroom and I had a big fight..it’s not working right now…I will try again tomorrow. If you say it’s easy I believe you. But I’ve installed it 2 other times and each time I got rid of it…I felt like Lightroom and I just didn’t get along…but I am willing to try it again if it will help me process my photo jobs quickly for basic tweaking.

Leave a Reply

