Trees

I think that I shall never see
A poem lovely as a tree.
A tree whose hungry mouth is prest
Against the earth’s sweet flowing breast;
A tree that looks at God all day
And lifts her leafy arms to pray;
A tree that may in Summer wear
A nest of robins in her hair;
Upon whose bosom snow has lain;
Who intimately lives with rain.
Poems are made by fools like me,
But only God can make a tree.
~Joyce Kilmer, “Trees,” 1914

We can learn a lot from trees: they’re always grounded but never stop reaching heavenward. ~

Not only are my favorite rusty-crusty cars getting auctioned off (read my last post), but too many old, beautiful trees are being cut down for the sake of “development.” These trees (pictured above) are in a newly developed subdivision, but I often wonder if the trees will remain or be torn down when more lots are sold.

Each time a tree is torn down my inner soul cries out in mourning; much like losing a dear friend. Sigh. Trees, I feel, have so much beauty, personality, individuality, character, etc…...if one will only take time to observe.

This entry was posted in landscape, nature, photograph, Sue Henry Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Trees

  1. JRP says:

    “Each time a tree is torn down my inner soul cries out in mourning; much like losing a dear friend. Sigh. Trees, I feel, have so much beauty, personality, individuality, character, etc……if one will only take time to observe.”

    So beautifully said! I sooooo agree wholeheartedly and it something I wish I could stop from happening…especially around New Jersey.

    The photos you posted are so beautiful. I’m sure you’ve known me to talk about how I saw a beautiful tree and needed to stop and pull my car over just to photograph it. I would have stopped for these! Great colors.

    I always loved the Joyce Kilmer poem “Trees.” Did you know she was from New Brunswick, New Jersey? One of the Johnson & Johnson (whom I work for) buildings was named after her: “The Kilmer House” and many things around the Rutgers campus are named for her. I love these kind of details (when I actually know them).

  2. suehenryphotography says:

    Thanks, Jen. And, no…..I didn’t know she was from New Brunswick. Thanks for adding some interesting details.

    When I was in middle school, my voice teacher had me sing “I Think That I Shall Never See….” At the time I just didn’t “get it.” Some things one has to grown in to .

  3. JRP says:

    “Some things one has to grown in to .”

    So true Sue. 🙂

  4. The image of your newest tree looks so youthful,. It must be in its prime. The second tree, looks older…it has seen more storms…looks tired and not in its prime.
    But aren.t they both beautiful? A tree can grow this beautifully only when it is not surrounded and bunched up wtih a lot of other trees.
    Now these trees are immortal, thanks to you.

Leave a Reply

