Processing Edits

My blogger friend, Julie Lawson, recently had a post in which she presented one image with three different “edits.” Frequently I find myself torn on which “editing” direction to zone in on and, like Julie, do a great deal of experimenting.

You can check out Julie’s entry by clicking this link: http://julielawsonphotography.com

This tiny little daisy-like flower is a perfect example of what I go through when working with an image.

It was taken in my neighbor’s yard on a hot Sunday afternoon. My neighbor’s patio planter was abounding with these tiny yellow beauties. The flower is probably about the size of a nickel. As you probably are learning about me, I prefer to focus on a single subject and almost always use the 100 mm macro lens.

The Tiny Yellow Flower

The Tiny Yellow Flower

The Tiny Yellow Flower - Soft and Faded

The Tiny Yellow Flower - Soft and Faded

The Tiny Yellow Flower - Moody black and white

The Tiny Yellow Flower - "Moody" black and white

My dilemma at this point is which, if any, of the edits do I keep? Each edit, in my opinion, has something I am drawn to and each edit presents a different mood or impression.

Many readers of this blog are photographers. How do YOU decide when an edit is a finished product? How do YOU decide which direction to take? What makes one image stand out over another in YOUR eyes?

I’d love to hear your comments.

This entry was posted in macro, nature, photograph, Sue Henry Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Processing Edits

  1. David W. Martin says:

    How about a triptych?

  2. suehenryphotography says:

    Not a bad idea, David. I’ll have to give it some thought.

  3. JRP says:

    A triptych sometimes works…

    But for me…this is always the tough part, Sue. I find that I constantly do multiple edits (I think that’s where Julie and I are so alike). Once I do these multiple edits I find myself studying them, and studying them until eventually one does stand out among the rest. I always find that one will…even if I have to wait a couple days..a week…or more. When I come back to the 3, 4, or even 5 edits one always does pop out at me as the winner.

    What I’m trying (keyword is trying LOL) to do now is really look at a photo and make the conscious decision right then and there as to what I want it to look like. It’s been hard but I’m trying to do less multiple edits that way. I can’t say I’ve kicked the habit though because I still love to try multiple edits to see what works best…I just can’t help myself!

    For your examples above I like the original BUT I like the brighter look the 2nd one provides. I’m not as much into the soft look for this one but maybe if the original was brightened it would incorporate the crisp look of #1 with the brightness of #2… I’m not even sure where I come up with these thoughts… 🙂 but that’s what I thought of in my head when I saw them.

  4. suehenryphotography says:

    Jen, Thank you for your well thought out and detailed comments, and I value your comments. As I have said before, I learn so much from you.

    When I revisit this series, I’m a little unsure of if I want to go any further with ANY of these; however, I personally am most drawn to the black and white.

    I find all of this so fascinating. The thoughts, comments, feelings, insights on a piece……

Leave a Reply

